Heroes Mingle achieves the impossible

In librarianship, professional learning used to be dominated by national or regional conferences where only those of a certain tier in the librarianship hierarchy would be privileged enough to attend. And whatever happened at conference stayed at conference. As a result the hundreds of librarians left behind, were left behind.

That world still exists but it no longer dominates our professional learning.

The perfect professional development opportunity is free, online, after hours and highly relevant to you. This is one of those opportunities.

On Saturday 19 October at 7pm NZT Heroes Mingle is going global. Megan and I will be the only New Zealand librarians presenting at Library 2.0: the future of libraries in the digital age where we will discuss our philosophy, the technological tools we use and the lessons we’ve learned in taking control of our own professional development pathway.

Library 2.0 is a free, fully online, totally virtual conference and we’d love it if you could come to our presentation. Our session will be held immediately before Gene Tan’s keynote. So depending on your time zone this could be:

New Zealand Saturday 19 October, 7pm
US Pacific Daylight Time Friday 18 October, 11pm
US Eastern Daylight Time Saturday 19 October, 2am
Brisbane Saturday 19 October, 4pm
London Saturday 19 October, 7am

You don’t need to register for the conference, all you have to do is find our session (Creating the professional development opportunities you want) in your time zone, click on it to expand the information and you’ll find a link to the session the day before the conference begins.

Join us and learn key strategies to beginning your own professional development journey.

About these ads

2 responses to “Heroes Mingle achieves the impossible

  1. I’ll be ‘there’. Just a note though, there is another NZ based session after yours at 9pm
    “Session Title: Putting the ‘Oomph’ back into Reading with Literature Circles, Blogging and Twitter
    Your Name and Title: Justine Hughes, Educator / Education Consultant
    Your Library, School, or Organization Name: Henderson Intermediate School / Virtual Technologies
    Area of the World from Which You Will Present: Auckland, New Zealand”

    • It would be great to have you onboard! Megan and I are so looking forward to presenting. There are two other Kiwis presenting as far as we know – the session you mention and the final keynote. Megan and I are the only librarians though. :)